British Dalmatian Club Forum Index British Dalmatian Club
British Dalmatian Club Forum

AlbumAlbum    FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

looking for a stud...help

Post new topic   Reply to topic    British Dalmatian Club Forum Index -> South West & Channel Islands
View previous topic :: View next topic  
sue humphries

PostPosted: Sun Jan 24, 2010 10:37 pm    Post subject: looking for a stud...help Reply with quote

Hi, my lovely girl lou lou is 18mths now and the next season she has (5 mths time??)we would like to find a stud.
I've never done this before-i'm sure it's going to be hard work!
any guidence will be appreciated.
where do I start?
sue
Dalregis

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 8:53 am    Post subject: finding a stud Reply with quote

I would suggest going back to the breeder for advice. Failing that, the District Rep for your area might be able to help. Dig out Lou lou's pedigree- it will be essential for the owner of a stud dog to study it to ensure that the parents aren't too closely related.
It is important that both the bitch and stud dog have been BAER tested. Finally, aproach the owner of the potential stud dog well in advance to ensure that he will be available when the time comes, and also for them to meet Lou lou.
Pat
Maggi

PostPosted: Mon Jan 25, 2010 11:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote